History of Georgian Money

    Georgia is the oldest center of the coin civilization, where coin emission and money circulation began at the end of the 6th century BC, with the minting of silver coins in the Kingdom of Colchis. In the scientific literature, these coins are called Colchian Tetri. Since then, Greek, Roman, Parthian, Sassanian, Byzantine, Arab, Seljuk, Mongolian, Ottoman, Iranian, European and other currencies circulated in the territory of Georgia for centuries. The currencies issued and circulated in Georgia tell the centuries-old history of the country's political and economic life.